Dear Bammy Awards, Where Did It Go Wrong?

I feel her voice and understand her pain. It is another example of how sometimes in an attempt to honour we miss because we focus on the awards and the show rather than the amazing stories of educators and students. What we say and do matter! Surely there is a way we can celebrate educators and learning without giving out awards.

From what I’ve read the connections made were the highlight of evening. Now these stories and their impact on each person involved would be ones I would love to read about and learn from.

Thank you Pernille for sharing your story. Your experiences and voice inspire me.

Dear Bammy Awards,

For the last 16 hours or so I have been trying to find the words to describe what last night’s event did for me as a teacher, not as an honoree.  And while this letter may come off as too blunt, there are things we need to talk about.

When I first heard about you last year, I was curious and mildly excited that someone was finally trying to put a positive spotlight on educators.  When I was invited to attend as one of the 100 Connected Educators, I was honored, even though I knew my two babies at home would prevent me from coming.  I thought what you had was a great idea, even if there were bumps in the road to figure out.

This year when I heard that I was a nominee, up for elementary teacher of the year, I was humbled, confused, and…

View original post 1,086 more words

This entry was posted in Education and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

