KidBlog.org

This is a repost from my previous blogging platform.  Enjoy!

I’m hopeful to find some ideas about how to use the KidBlog.org blog that I set up with my class most effectively.  It is a site that allows you to create a classroom blog area without the students needing an email address to register.  It would be great if some educators shared their experiences and ideas with me.  I envision 4 things for this blog.
First I see this as a meeting place for my students when they are at home or on the go.  If they needed or wanted to provide advice about a topic relating to school they can ask and respond there.  Secondly, it is a place I could have them respond to debatable questions that come up during discussions in Language Arts, Social Studies, Current Events, and Science.  Thirdly, students in our school come from a variety of ESL backgrounds.  Many of the students do not have a lot of experience with written english.  Therefore I thought about using the blog also as a home journal and asking them to make a lot of entries on a variety of topics.  The purpose of this is to get them writing a lot and it gets them to put their ideas down without having to worry about other elements of writing.  These other elements can be addressed while going through the editing process with other pieces of writing.  This is an idea I picked up on at a recent pro-d by Diana Crutchley.  The title of the workshop was “Journalling and all that Jazz”.  Finally, I just want the students to realize writing can be a personally rewarding experience.  Furthermore other students will learn from the experiences of the blogger. I’m hopeful the blog will be self sufficient and the students will be driving most of the topics being talked about.

These are just a few of my initial thoughts on how to use a blog effectively in my grade 7 classroom.  Please drop me a note and let me know of any alternative ideas that would enhance our blogging experiences.  Thank you so much for taking the time to read this blog entry!!

Hugh McDonald
Grade 7 Teacher
Georges Vanier Elementary

This entry was posted in Blogging, Education and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

